Nadhirah, Zahariah, Jia Qi, Ting Huan


Zahariah
August 25, 2008, 7:18 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

1.     Do you believe in fortune-telling? Why/why not?

 

I don’t believe in fortune-telling because in my opinion, it is not very convincing. Sometimes also, not all the visions given come true. It somehow gives you a certain expectation of something to happen in your future life. I feel that fortune tellers are somewhat giving us false hope as not all the things that they vision will come true. These false hopes might depress one, especially if the visions given to them did not really come true. Hence, this will make them feel that their life is not worth living for. Therefore, I don’t believe in fortune-telling because it is just another of cheap and easy ways people do to get money by getting naïve people to believe them. Furthermore, our fate is not decided by the fortune-teller. Our fate is in our own hands. If we work for something that we badly want, our dreams will become reality. However, when we just sit there, and expect miracles to happen, obviously it won’t come true.

 

 

 

2.     Young Singaporeans are a pampered lot. Do you agree?

 

I agree to a large extent. However, it all depends on the children’s upbringing. Not all young Singaporeans are pampered, but most are. Most of these pampered children come from families with both working parents. Since the parents of these children are hardly at home, they use materialistic love to compensate the times they are not at home. These in turn gets these children pampered as they are used to getting everything that they desire. However, some parents are aware that this materialistic love would do more harm than good. Parents play a part in their child’s upbringing. With proper upbringing, the children will be able to adapt to changes in the environment easily and know what is wrong and right. Hence, when they grow up, they will know that it isn’t always easy to get the things that they want just and it all depends on the efforts that they put in.

 

3.     Some people like being in a group, others hate it. How do you feel about being in a group?

 

I am very versatile person hence I am comfortable being in or out of a group. However, if given a choice, I would rather not be in any group. Even though being in a group let you feel this certain sense of belonging, sometimes it can get rather demanding. It would unintentionally also restrict one from broadening their circle of friends. As I can socialize with people well, I like to mix around and meet different people. I am not really fond of the idea of always sticking to a group of people. Sometimes, it is always better to be independent and not depend on our group members.

 

Being alone also sometimes gives me time to reflect on my daily happenings. By reflecting, I will realize what benefits I have achieved and also what wrong I have done. When I realize my mistakes I will try not to repeat it. Being alone also, allows me to be independent. When I am independent, I am able to rely on myself, rather than on others. It prepares me for adulthood too.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment